Websites of the Eastern Churches

Eastern Orthodox Churches

The Orthodox Church is a Christian body whose adherents are largely based in Russia, Greece, Eastern Europe and the Middle East, with a growing presence in the western world. Most Orthodox Christians accept the First seven Ecumenical Councils.

Orthodox Christianity identifies itself as the original Christian church founded by Christ and the Apostles, and traces its lineage back to the early church through the process of Apostolic Succession and unchanged theology and practice. Orthodox distinctives (shared with the Eastern Catholic Churches) include the Divine Liturgy, Mysteries or Sacraments, and an emphasis on the preservation of Tradition, which it holds to be Apostolic in nature.

    • Moldovan Orthodox Church


under the Ecumenical Patriarchate of Constantinople:

  • Exarchate of the Philippines

* Autonomy not universally recognized

Some Orthodox do not acknowledge the following Church as autonomous & autocephalous:

Orthodox Church in America [Autocephaly granted in 1970 from its mother church, the Russian Orthodox Church. It is in full communion with all canonical Orthodox Churches and de facto, fully recognized by all. The Ecumenical Patriarchate accepts the OCA, but disputes the Russian Orthodox Church's action]

Estonian Apostolic Orthodox Church [Autonomy recognized only by the Ecumenical Patriarchate]

Note, that the Russian Church recognized a different order of seniority, in which the Georgian church comes after the Church of Russia and the Albanian Church – after the Church of Greece.

The Church of Cyprus also has a different list featuring herself immediately after the ancient Patriarchates and before that of Moscow.

The jurisdiction of the Sinai peninsula could be Autocephalous but is disputed because it consists solely of a monastery and its metochia and its Archbishop is the Abbot who must be ordained by the Patriarch of Jerusalem


The following is list of some of the organizations that use the term “Orthodox” in their name but do not maintain communion with any of the 14 (15) autocephalous churches and thus are not typically considered part of the Orthodox Christian communion.

Traditionalist Schisms

Churches of the Old Calendarists movement:

Are groups that do not maintain communion with the 14 (15) autocephalous churches as a result of the use of the Revised Julian Calendar.

Churches of the Old Believers movement:

Are groups that do not accept liturgical reforms carried out in the Russian Orthodox Church by Patriarch Nikon in the 17th century.


Nationalist Schisms

Churches with irregular or unresolved canonical status are entities that have carried out episcopal consecrations outside of the norms of canon law or whose bishops have been excommunicated by one of the 14 (15) autocephalous churches.

  • Abkhazian Orthodox Church
  • Bulgarian Orthodox Church – Alternative synod

Oriental Orthodox Churches

Oriental Orthodoxy refers to the churches of Eastern Christian tradition that keep the faith of the first three Ecumenical Councils of the undivided Church: the First Council of Nicaea (AD 325), the First Council of Constantinople (381) and the Council of Ephesus (431), and rejected the dogmatic definitions of the Council of Chalcedon (451). Hence, these churches are also called Old Oriental Churches.

    • Brahmavar (Goan) Orthodox Church


  • Malankara Orthodox Independent Syrian Church

Eastern Catholic Churches

Eastern Catholic Churches (other names: the Eastern Rite Catholics, Uniates, Eastern Church united with Rome) are the Eastern Christian Churches (Eastern Orthodox and Oriental Orthodox). As well as the Latin Church, part of the Catholic Church recognize as its visible head Roman Pope and the dogmatics is identical with the Latin Church Beliefs. The worship, however, unlike the Latin Church used the Roman rite, but their own Eastern rites. Another difference is that in legal matters are not subject to Code of Canon Law Latin Church, but follow their own canon law, whose primary source of the Code of Canons of the Eastern Churches (effective since., 1991).

Alexandrian liturgical tradition:

Antiochian or West Syrian liturgical tradition:

Armenian liturgical tradition:

Chaldean or East Syrian liturgical tradition:

Constantinopolitan (Byzantine, Greek) liturgical tradition:

In the United States, the Slovak Greek Catholics are not distinguished from the Ruthenians. Nonetheless, they have an eparchy in Canada, the Eparchy of Saints Cyril and Methodius of Toronto.

Exarchate is not explicitly recognized as a Church sui iuris yet , although some of it for the Church sui iuris considered.
Georgian Byzantine-Rite Catholics are not recognized as a particular Church (cf. canon 27 of the Code of Canons of the Eastern Churches). The majority of Eastern Catholic Christians in the Georgian Republic worship under the form of the Armenian liturgical rite.